NextDrive Assists Japan TST Group、Taiwan bluetechno Group in the Environmentally Sustainable Transport Systems Development Plan

Green Slow Mobility Battery and Charging Station Management System Project
  • NextDrive Atto Data Gateway
  • Integration of car battery and management system
  • Management dashboard for real-time battery status and GPS positioning

Intelligent Transportation:
NextDrive Assists Japan TST Group、Taiwan bluetechno Group in the Environmentally Sustainable Transport Systems Development Plan

The Ministry of the Environment is a Cabinet-level ministry of the central government of Japan. It is responsible for domestic and global solid waste management, environment protection, pollution and nature conservation in hopes to change and revolutionize the mass production, consumption and waste production cycle of modern societies.

The Ministry of the Environment has been proactively promoting various domestic environmental protection plans and policies. While on transportation, it advocates for low- carbon technologies and policies. By combining renewable energy sources, it hopes to reduce transport carbon emissions and at the same time, up-lift the quality and utilization rate of public transports.

Under the same philosophy, the Ministry of the Environment worked with Road Bureau, Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism to develop and improve urban-rural areas’ public transportation infrastructure, starting with Kanagawa-ku, a city that has an aged but less dense population. Starting with Green Slow Mobility, a modified electric golf cart that uses rechargeable batteries and a charging station management system to replace buses that has a higher establishment cost, as the public’s new form of public transport.

With the ability to integrate multiple devices’ electrical data and present it on a human-machine interface dashboard, the Internet of Energy (IoE) company, NextDrive offered Atto Data Gateway as the project’s core data gateway. The dashboard offers a real- time view of golf cart batteries and charging station statuses to assist the Ministry of the Environment in connecting and creating a green urban-rural transportation network.

▲Atto Data Gateway

Via energy management system, to achieve travel route optimization and efficient energy distribution

The project utilized HITACHI’s electric golf cart integrated by TST, rechargeable batteries provided by Taiwan’s bluetechono group and strategically placed charging stations as the cart’s source of power. But while the cars are on the road, how does one know the battery status? How does the driver know where the nearest charging station is at, plan a travel route and arrange charging time? These were the initial challenges with the project.

In this scenario, NextDrive’s Atto Data Gateway became the perfect solution.

Atto Data Gateway’s built-in RS-485 port can connect to bluetechno ‘s rechargeable battery to be seamlessly integrated into the battery management system (BMS), power meter, in-cart GPS sensor and the charging station information system. The Atto also acts as a data relay point, the built-in SIM card can upload cart’s battery, charging station and GPS positioning information in real-time via 4G/ LTE communication protocol onto the cloud. The collected information is then displayed on a web-based interface as the Green Slow Mobility cart’s battery monitoring system for the Ministry of the Environment.

▲Electric golf cart battery and charging station management system topology

The web-based interface for Green Slow Mobility is simple, clear and intuitive. Coupled with Google Map, the location of each charging station can be located. In addition to charging station locations, it also displays each cart’s battery information such as remaining battery capacity, voltage and current outputs. This data allows the driver and related personnel to grasp each cart’s system statuses so they can arrange maintenance schedules to charge or discharge the carts.

 

Electric Golf Cart Battery and Charging Station Management System Information Display

  • Green Slow Mobility’s total battery capacity, single-cell voltage and total current
  • Charging station status, output current and charging voltage
  • Real-time location of Green Slow Mobility and charging stations on Google Map

▲Screenshot of Green Slow Mobility battery and charging station management system

Via energy management system, optimize vehicle planning and energy distribution

This project is the first phase in establishing the complete system. Once the viability of devices and power-monitoring function integration into the battery management system has been verified, the Ministry of the Environment plans to go ahead with the second phase of the system in 2021; which is the mass production of power monitoring systems for electrical vehicles.

In the past, there are rare few electrical vehicle monitoring systems that have both GPS and energy monitoring functionality at the same time. Through NextDrive’s Atto intelligent gateway solution and network system, the Ministry of the Environment can verify the viability of Green Slow Mobility operations and monitor vehicles in real-time.

Through the project’s acquired system data, it provides the Ministry of the Environment with an in-depth analysis of electric vehicle’s status, battery life, etc. for future vehicle coordination references and to plan efficient travel routes. And it also serves as the basis for the second phase, the mass production of power monitoring systems which can include more people from different areas into the management system. It greens the transportation network between urban-rural areas, reduces energy wasting, and offer the people a convenient and environmentally friendly method of transport.

In addition to greening and intellectualizing the transport system, this project can also become an important foundation and building blocks for future energy developments.Utilizing the energy data collected by electric vehicles, automated energy distribution can hopefully one day be achieved through flexible energy storage and charging applications. The system monitoring data also act as empirical evidence in realizing the vast possibilities for future virtual power plants (VPP) in order to serve the well-being of the environment and society.

NextDrive 協助日本環境省打造綠色智慧路網

小型電動車(Green Slow Mobility)車載電池與充電樁管理系統示範案
  • NextDrive Atto 數據監測智慧閘道器
  • 車載電池、蓄電池系統整合
  • 管理系統頁面即時電力、位置資訊可視

智慧交通:
NextDrive 協助日本環境省建設綠色路網

日本環境省(Ministry of the Environment)是日本中央省廳之一。環境省的業務範圍涵蓋了日本各地環境、環保、能源的相關議題,包含地球環境保全、公害防治、廢棄物對策、自然環境的保護及環境整備等,希望能為大量生產、大量消費且大量製造廢棄物的現代社會帶來變革。

環境省自設立以來便一直積極在日本各地推行各項環保計畫與政策,在交通領域上也積極推行低碳政策,期望透過再生能源結合再生能源,減少交通運輸所造成的碳排放,同時也期望能提高大眾運輸工具的品質與使用效率。

在這樣的理念下,日本環境省便與國土交通省共同致力發展並改善城鄉交通基礎建設,並希望從人口數較少且高齡化的神奈川縣城郊開始,推行由高爾夫球車改造的小型電動車(Green Slow Mobility)與充電樁管理系統,取代建置成本較高的公車,同時使用蓄電池供電,作為一般人民通勤代步的工具。

作為能完美整合多項裝置電力資訊,並將數據呈現於使用介面上的能源物聯網公司,NextDrive 提供 Atto 數據監測智慧閘道器作為數據的核心,並打造可即時觀看車載電池、充電樁狀態的線上平台,協助日本環境省建設連接城鄉的綠色交通網路。

▲Atto 數據監測智慧閘道器

整合多項能源裝置,
打造資訊整合與管理的線上平台

在這次的計畫中,環境省使用了 HITACHI 的小型高爾夫球車,搭載由台灣清和興業(bluetechono)製造的車載蓄電池,並搭配定點充電樁作為電動車的電力來源。然而如何即時得知電動車車載電池的狀態,司機又該如何即時確認充電樁的位置,並安排充電時間與路線,是這次計畫碰到的第一個的挑戰。

在這樣的情境下,Atto 數據監測閘道器變成為了這個場域中最合適的解方。

Atto 利用本體負載的 RS-485 接口與 Bluetechno 車載電池連接,一次整合車載電池 BMS 系統、車載 Power Meter 、車載 GPS Sensor 以及充電樁資訊,成為小型電動車及充電樁的資料傳輸中繼,並透過內建 SIM 卡,以 4G/LTE 的方式將車載電池及充電樁的即時電力資訊、動態位置上傳雲端,同時顯示於 web 介面上,提供環境省作為小型電動車運行之電池監控系統。

▲小型電動車(Green Slow Mobility)車載電池與充電樁管理系統整體架構圖

小型電動車(Green Slow Mobility)車載電池與充電樁管理系統有資訊清晰、設計簡潔、直覺顯示的特點,與一般民眾也經常使用的 Google map 整合,計畫中的小型電動車及充電樁都能清楚地顯示在神奈川縣的地圖上,同時也顯示了車載電池與蓄電池的電力狀態及電壓、電流等資訊,讓電動車駕駛及相關人員都能清楚看到系統狀況,並進行電動車調配與充放電時間排程。

 

小型電動車(Green Slow Mobility)車載電池與充電樁管理系統網站顯示內容

  • 電動車車載電池總電量、單一電池電壓、電池總電流
  • 充電樁充電狀態、充電電流、充電電壓
  • 電動車及充電樁 Google Map 動態位置顯示

▲小型電動車(Green Slow Mobility)車載電池與充電樁管理系統網站畫面

透過能源管理系統,
實現路線規劃最佳化與能源調度

這次的示範案僅是整個系統建置的第一階段,在驗證管理系統在裝置整合與電力資料監控的可行性後,環境省也預計在 2021 年將示範案推行至第二階段:量產型的車輛電量監控系統。

在過去,其實非常少有能同時具備導航及用電監測功能的電動車監控系統,透過 NextDrive 提供的解決方案,環境署可透過 Atto 與系統網站驗證在當地實行小型電動車運作的可能性,並利用 Atto 實現電動車的狀態可視。

透過此次示範案的系統數據,環境省可以進一步判斷電動車的即時車況、續航力等,將可作為日後車輛調度的參考,同時也能藉此規劃最佳化車輛網絡路徑,並作為發展第二階段量產型的車輛電量監控系統的基礎,為更多地區的人民導入管理系統,綠化城鄉之間的交通網絡,減少能源浪費並讓人民能有更便利且環保的代步工具。

除了在交通系統上的綠化及智慧化外,此次建置的系統也能成為未來能源發展的重要基礎建設。利用電動車蒐集的能源數據,在未來也能逐一實現自動化能源調度,將能源透過蓄電、充電的方式靈活運用,也能利用系統監控數據,並為未來 VPP 虛擬電廠的實證帶來更多的可能性,為環境與社會創造更多福祉。